Baseball defeats Warriors 6-4 in CIF playoffs

The Harvard-Westlake baseball team defeated Westlake 6-4 in a play-in game for the CIF-SS Division I playoffs. The Wolverines, who began the game with a 6-0 cushion after the first inning, were led by ace Jesse Bergin ’18 who threw six innings with five strikeouts. Nico Mannucci ’17 got the save, striking out two. John […]

Baseball proceeds to Easton Tournament semifinals

Baseball proceeds to Easton Tournament semifinals

The Wolverines won their third game in a row to begin the season, defeating the Simi Valley Pioneers 8-4 in the Easton Tournament quarterfinals. Harvard-Westlake got off to a quick start with a three-run first inning, however were frequently challenged by a pesky Simi Valley team. Jake Suddleson ’16 got the scoring going with an RBI […]

NBA executives discuss sports analytics with students and faculty

Co-owner of the NBA’s Memphis Grizzlies Steve Kaplan (P Madeline ’14 Leo ’16) and Grizzlies’ Vice President of Basketball Operations John Hollinger spoke to a group of students and faculty in Ahmanson Lecture Hall Friday about their development and use of sports analytics in managing the NBA franchise. Sports analytics utilize and manipulate statistical data to […]

Softball falls in 2nd round, coach resigns

After forcing a three-way tie with Alemany and Chaminade for the Mission League title, the softball team moved on to playoffs. The Wolverines  were knocked out in the second round of playoffs in a 3-2 loss against Colton last Tuesday, May 21 . Despite tallying at least six runs in each of the last five […]

Softball pursues Mission League title

After scoring a total of 24 runs in its first three non-league games, and celebrating a no-hitter by Chloe Pendergast ’13, the softball team continues to prepare for its upcoming Mission League season, in an attempt to seize the maximum potential of its offense and pitching, while improving its teamwork and communication. After two run-away […]

Yip, Smith to head next Student Government

By Adam Gold Students on both campuses picked junior Wesley Yip to be next year’s head prefect in a runoff election held earlier this week. Yip will join Tasia Smith ’08, who was elected last week, in heading next year’s Student Government. The voting body consisted of current freshman, sophomores and juniors, the three classes […]