Prefects retreat to Palm Springs

Upper School prefects attended their annual retreat Aug. 19 in Palm Springs. Junior Prefect Jaya Nayar ’20 said the goal of the retreat was to plan for the upcoming school year by setting goals and areas for improvement. One of the main goals is to ensure the effectiveness of Prefect Council and their ability to […]

Sophomores, juniors elect next year’s Head Prefects

Sophomores, juniors elect next year’s Head Prefects

Ryan Stanford ’19 and Kevin Chen ’19 will serve as Head Prefects for the 2018-2019 school year. Results were announced after school on Thursday in an email. Although one male and one female were still chosen to be Head Prefect, following standard protocol, students were able to vote for any two candidates regardless of gender, […]

Students celebrate holidays with winter festivities

Students celebrate holidays with winter festivities

Students, faculty and staff celebrated the winter season with themed dress days and holiday activities during WinterFest, which was organized by Prefect Council. On Monday, students and faculty wore ugly Christmas sweaters and other festive clothing to school. Tuesday was called “Twinter Tuesday” where students got to wear the same clothing as a friend. Wednesday […]

Students come together on Facebook to support fire victims

In the wake of four wildfires in the Los Angeles area that caused students to evacuate their homes and the school to cancel classes, almost 300 students took to Facebook to show their support for those affected. Prefect Michael Lehrhoff ’20 created the HW Fire Relief Page, which is sponsored by Prefect Council, as a […]

Prefects elected for next school year

Prefects elected for next school year

Upper school students voted Cate Wolfen ’17 and Matt Thomas ’17 Head Prefects for the 2016-2017 Prefect Council earlier this month. The senior prefects will be Lauren Genender ’17, Carolyn Hong ’17, Jordan Khorsandi ’17 and Matt Hogan ’17. The juniors will be represented by Julia Cosgrove ’18, Princie Kim ’18, JP Cherry ’18 and […]

Prefect Council announces election results

Prefect Council announced the 2015-2016 prefects in an e-mail April 23. The senior prefects are Helene Miles, Jordan Strom, Shelby Weiss and Adam Yaron. The junior prefects are Lexi Block, Charlie Noxon, Matt Thomas and Cate Wolfen. Hunter Brookman and Grace Pan were elected head prefects before spring break. Yaron was elected as a male […]

Alumnus makes television debut on "Amazing Race: China Rush"

By Noa Yadidi Former first prefect Charlie Melvoin ’05 will compete to win a trip around the world worth $60,000 on Emmy-winning reality show “The Amazing Race,” which airs Aug. 26 in China. The season was filmed throughout April of this year. On the show, teams of two people – each with pre-existing relationships – […]

Candidate Statement: Jeremy Bradford

1. For what position are you running? I am running for the position of Junior Prefect in the Prefect Council for the 2012-2013 school year. 2. What makes you feel that you are qualified for the position? Please describe any leadership experiences you’ve had, if applicable. I am a current member of two debate clubs […]

1 2 3 4