Four seniors named National Merit Scholars

Tanisha Gunby

Ben Beckman ’19, Ryan Wixen ’19, Yujung Park ’19 and Arts and Entertainment Editor Alexandra So ’19 won the National Merit Scholarship among more than 15,000 finalists. Winners will receive $2,500 as a reward for their academic achievement.

According to U.S. News and World Reports, the recipients’ scores represent the top 1 percent of the Preliminary Scholastic Assessment Test, which they took during their junior year. The program reviewed their academic accomplishments and other skills that show a promise for high potential in college success.

“I’m very honored that I was chosen, but I was pretty shocked when I received the scholarship,” Park said. “All the other National Merit Semifinalists from our school this year were such strong students, so I wasn’t expecting to win at all.”