National Merit Semifinalists announced for 2020

Frank Jiang

The National Merit Scholarship Corporation named 21 senior National Merit semifinalists this year, as determined by PSAT scores. 

This year, the National Merit Semifinalists cutoff for California was a PSAT/NMSQT Selection Index of 222. In order to become a semifinalist, a student must be one of the highest-scoring students in their state. Generally, the number of semi-finalists is about 16,000 students in the US.

This year’s semifinalists will compete for 7,600 scholarships worth more than $31 million. Winners will be announced between April and July next year.

Below are the semifinalists for the Class of 2020.

Diego M. Ahmad

David B. Arkow

John C. Cahill

Anjee Feng

Tyra Dane P. Hirooka

Caroline J. Kaleel

Hui Nan Eunice Kiang

Ziyue (Sebastian) Li

William H. Liu

Monica Martell

Anusha Mathur

Jaya J. Nayar

Ryan J. Park

Landon Poon

Dean A. Reiter

Colby Skaggs

Nikhila V. Sylbert

Chase T. Van Amburg

Lilah K. Weisman

Lindsay C. Wu

Samantha Yeh