Power outage interrupts Jazz Marathon

The Chronicle won the Gold Crown, the highest award given by the Columbia Scholastic Press Association, a program of the Graduate School of Journalism at Columbia University.

The award, honoring the 2006-2007 Chronicle, edited by Adam Gold ’07 and Niki Sri-Kumar ’07, recognizes outstanding reporting, editing, writing and design.  In addition, members of the Chronicle staff won 22 individual awards, called Gold Circles, for writing and design during the 2006-2007 and 2007-2008 school years.

The awards were announced during the CSPA’s Spring Convention at Columbia University in New York on Friday.

With the winning of the Gold Crown, last year’s school newspaper made a clean sweep of the three major high school journalism awards given by CSPA, the National Scholastic Press Association, and Quill and Scroll. It had previously been awarded NSPA’s National Pacemaker and Quill and  Scroll’s George Gallup Award.

Winners included Will Baskin-Gerwitz ’08, Alex Cohen ’08, Faire Davidson ’09, Stephanie Deutsch ’08, Annie Dreyer’ 08, Reina Factor ’08, Dana Glaser ’09, Zack Goldman ’08, Billy Goulston ’08, Michael Kaplan ’08, Danielle Kolin ’08, Ariane Lange ’08, Andrew Lee ’09, Ali Pechman ’08, Andrew Schein ’07, Derek Schlom ’09, Lucas Shaw ’07, Peter Skrumbis ’08, Tiffanie Young ’08 and  Esther Zuckerman ’08,

A first place award for editorial writing also went to the staff of the Chronicle.