5 wrestlers win individual title

After the wrestling team wrapped up its first league title in recent years, five wrestlers finished first for their weight classes in league individual tournaments. 

Ben Kogan ’11, Gavin Ross ’09, Spencer Friedman ’09, Richard Leuchter ’08, and Daniel Meer ’08 all scored the top spot while Hank Murr ’09 and Evan Ryan ’09 finished second.  Tarek Tohme ’08 finished third in the competition.

“We’ve known for years that our wrestlers are better individually,” Meer said.  “What felt the best this year is that we were finally acknowledged for our success and have earned the respect of many who are not intimately acquainted with our team.”

Two weeks after league individuals were CIF individuals, 32-man double elimination brackets, in which the top five move on to Masters.

Ross, Friedman and Leuchter all made Masters and Meer finished sixth in CIF due to an ankle injury.

In Masters, all the Wolverine wrestlers were ousted on the second day.