2022 Student awards announced

Chloe Park

Valedictorian: Ariana Azarbal ’22

Salutatorian: Stephen Purdum ’22

Bishop’s medal and Veritas Award: Shanti Hinkin ’22, Jack Coleman ’22, Joy Ho ’22

Given to three seniors who most fully embody the ideals and aspirations of the school.

Lester Medvene Award: Bari LeBari ’24

Awarded to a sophomore who contributes to the life of the school and embodies Lester Medvene’s “curiosity of mind and dedication of spirit.”

Morris Michael Landres Award: Freelance Writer Davis Marks ’24

Recognizes a sophomore who has demonstrated “consistent effort, dedication and promise” through their work on a school publication.

Tamkin Community Service Award: Joie Zhang ’22 and Izzy Welsh ’22

Given to a senior who has given their time to serving the community, both on and off campus and both independently and with others.

Brendan Kutler ’10 “Two Hats” Award: Fernanda Herrera ’23

Awarded to a junior who pursues intellectual experiences outside the classroom, takes risks to pursue their interests and demonstrates kindness towards peers and adults inside and outside the classroom.

Jerry Margolis Jazz Award: Gabe Yaron ’22, Chris Lee ’22

Named in honor of performing arts teacher Jerry Margolis, who taught for 36 years beginning at the Harvard School for Boys, to a student who contributed to the jazz program during their time at the school.

Frederick Douglass Diversity Award: Eghosasere Asemota ’22

Recognizes a senior for their focus on their own culture or others based on ethnicity, religion and sexual orientation in a creative, courageous and compassionate way through art, activism or outreach.

Cuscaden Blackwood Medal: Santiago Hernandez ’23

Given to a member of the junior class for their outstanding contributions to the school environment and spirit. The recipient is nominated and selected by senior class officers and faculty members.

Lamar Trotti Jr. ’50 Award: Dahnte Russell ’22

Given to a senior, in memory of Lamar Trotti Jr. ’50, who made the most dramatic transformation in their life and work both inside and outside of the classroom during his or her time at Harvard-Westlake

David Justin Rascoff ’91 Award: Cionnie Pineda ’22

Given in memory of David Justin Rascoff ’91 to a member of the senior class who has always spoken their opinions in their daily life.

Blanche Nelson Boyle Award: Jason Thompson ’22

Given in memory of Blanche Nelson Boyle to the student who has given the greatest service to other students

Humanitas Award: Jade Stanford ’22

Honors a senior who has demonstrated service to the school, friendliness, consideration for others and loyalty to the community.

George Coleman Edwards Award: Executive Editor Quincey Dern ’22

President’s Award: Andrew Choe ’22

Senior Academic Awards

Computer Science: Kevin Kwak ’22

Ducommun Award (Mathematics): Kevin Kwak ’22

English: Paisley Kandler ’22

World Language: Li Yam Kreiz ’22, Mia Karathanasis ’22

History/Social Studies: CC Mesa ’22

Interdisciplinary Studies/Independent Research: Editor-in-Chief Milla Ben-Ezra ’22, Micah Gold ’22

Performing Arts: Joy Ho ’22

Chronicle Award: Editor-in-Chief Tessa Augsberger ’22 and Editor-in-Chief Milla Ben-Ezra ’22

Vox Populi Award: Violet Barron ’22, Paris Little ’22

Sandifer Creative Writing Award: Olivia Sparks ’22

Science: Everett Tolbert-Schwartz ’22

Visual Arts: Grace Ma ’22

William L. David Award (Economics): Alexa Sen ’22

Faculty Awards

Rascoff ’91 Faculty Award: History/Social Studies Teacher Celia Goedde, World Languages Teacher Sephora Escarpeta-Garcia, Head of Peer Support and Interdisciplinary Studies and Independent Research Teacher Tina McGraw ’01

Created in honor of David Justin Rascoff ’91, this award funds summer sabbaticals for faculty members which the recipients can decide how to use.

Senior Athletic Awards

Lee Carlson Award for Athletics: Bella Ganocy ’22, Ronald Dalmacio ’22

Awarded to two members of the senior class who demonstrate excellence and dedication in athletics.

Schumacher Award: Daniela Quintero ’22

Given to the most outstanding three-sport athlete in a senior class.

Athletics Director Award: Prentiss Corbin ’22

Given to a senior for their non-athletic service to the athletic department.