The Student News Site of Harvard-Westlake School

The Harvard-Westlake Chronicle

The Student News Site of Harvard-Westlake School

The Harvard-Westlake Chronicle

The Student News Site of Harvard-Westlake School

The Harvard-Westlake Chronicle

2024 student and faculty awards announced

Connor Tang
President of School Rick Commons presents Head Prefect Davis Marks ’24 with the Humanitas award during the annual ceremony.

Valedictorian: Leo Craig ’24

Salutatorian: Bari LeBari ’24

Bishop’s Medal and Veritas Award: Derek Esrailian ’24, Lila Daoudi ’24, Bari LeBari ’24

Given to three seniors who most fully embody the ideals and aspirations of the school.

Lester Medvene Award: Nikhil Sarvaiya ’26

Awarded to a sophomore who contributes to the life of the school and embodies Lester Medvene’s “curiosity of mind and dedication of spirit.”

Morris Michael Landres Award: Nicolas Monroe ’26 and Erin Ryu ’26

Recognizes a sophomore who has demonstrated “consistent effort, dedication and promise” through their work on a school publication.

Tamkin Community Service Award: Avery Azad ’24 and Sophie Shabani ’24

Given to a senior who has given their time to serving the community, both on and off campus and both independently and with others.

Brendan Kutler ’10 “Two Hats” Award: Tiffany Armour ’25

Awarded to a junior who pursues intellectual experiences outside the classroom, takes risks to pursue their interests and demonstrates kindness towards peers and adults inside and outside the classroom.

Jerry Margolis Jazz Award: Leo Craig ’24

Named in honor of performing arts teacher Jerry Margolis, who taught for 36 years beginning at the Harvard School for Boys, to a student who contributed to the jazz program during their time at the school.

Frederick Douglass Diversity Award: Maddie Baffo ’24

Recognizes a senior for their focus on their own culture or others based on ethnicity, religion and sexual orientation in a creative, courageous and compassionate way through art, activism or outreach.

Cuscaden Blackwood Medal: Eva Goldrich ’25

Given to a member of the junior class for their outstanding contributions to the school environment and spirit. The recipient is nominated and selected by senior class officers and faculty members.

Lamar Trotti Jr. ’50 Award: Caroline Riemer ’24

Given to a senior, in memory of Lamar Trotti Jr. ’50, who made the most dramatic transformation in their life and work both inside and outside of the classroom during his or her time at Harvard-Westlake

David Justin Rascoff ’91 Award: Nilufer Mistry Sheasby ’24

Given in memory of David Justin Rascoff ’91 to a member of the senior class who has always spoken their opinions in their daily life.

Blanche Nelson Boyle Award: Elizabeth Johnstone ’24

Given in memory of Blanche Nelson Boyle to the student who has given the greatest service to other students

Humanitas Award: Davis Marks ’24

Honors a senior who has demonstrated service to the school, friendliness, consideration for others and loyalty to the community.

George Coleman Edwards Award: Ellie Whang ’24

Honors a senior who has best served the school and their fellow classmates. 


Senior Academic Awards


Computer Science: Wyatt Lake ’24

Ducommun Award (Mathematics): Taeyeon Paik ’24

English: Zoe Kramar ’24

World Language: Morgan Orwitz ’24 and Anusha Shayegan ’24

History/Social Studies: Elizabeth Johnstone ’24

Interdisciplinary Studies/Independent Research: Luke Madden ’24 and Arely Monterroso ’24

Performing Arts: Weston Fox ’24

Chronicle Award: Averie Perrin ’24 and Ella Yadegar ’24

Vox Populi Award: Zoe Fribourg ’24 and Zion Otaño ’24

Debate Award: Nilufer Mistry Sheasby ’24

Sandifer Creative Writing Award: Anusha Shayegan ’24

Science: Chris Robertson ’24

Visual Arts: Lola Kim ’24

William L. David Award (Economics): Oren Hartstein ’24


Senior Athletic Awards


Lee Carlson Award for Athletics: Jamie Yue ’24 and Trent Perry ’24

Awarded to two members of the senior class who demonstrate excellence and dedication in athletics.

Athletic Director Award: Jake Lancer ’24

Awarded to a senior who shows service to the athletic department.


Faculty Awards


Rascoff ’91 Faculty Award: Brannon Cook, Laffite Lamberto-Egan, Jill Turner

Created in honor of David Justin Rascoff ’91, this award funds summer sabbaticals for faculty members which the recipients can decide how to use.

Leave a Comment
More to Discover
About the Contributors
Hannah Shahidi, Assistant News Editor
Connor Tang, Assistant News Editor

Comments (0)

All The Harvard-Westlake Chronicle Picks Reader Picks Sort: Newest

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *