The Student News Site of Harvard-Westlake School

The Harvard-Westlake Chronicle

The Student News Site of Harvard-Westlake School

The Harvard-Westlake Chronicle

The Student News Site of Harvard-Westlake School

The Harvard-Westlake Chronicle

School honors students, staff at awards ceremony

Javi Arango ’16 accepts his senior academic award in English from English Department Head Larry Weber. Credit: Teresa Suh/Chronicle

Valedictorian – Joss Saltzman ’16

Salutatorian – Jared Gentile ’16

Lester Medvene Award – DJ Lesh ’18

Awarded to a sophomore who contributes to the life of the school and embodies Lester Medvene’s “curiosity of mind and dedication of spirit.”

Renselaer Award – Jonny Berman ’17

Given to a junior who has distinguished himself or herself in the study of math and science throughout the year. If the student chooses to attend Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, they receive a four-year scholarship.

Morris Michael Landres Award – Danielle Spitz ’18

Recognizes a sophomore who has demonstrated “consistent effort, dedication and promise” through his or her work on a school publication.

Tamkin Community Service Award – Cole Kawana ’16 and Henry Muhlheim ’16

Given to seniors who have given their time to serving the community, both on and off campus and both independently and with others.

Brendan Kutler ’10 ‘Two Hats’ Award – Courtney Nunley ’17

Awarded to a junior who pursues intellectual experiences outside the classroom, takes risks to pursue his or her interests and demonstrates kindness towards peers and adults inside and outside the classroom.

Jerry Margolis Jazz Award – Miles Van Tongeren ’16

Named in honor of performing arts teacher Jerry Margolis, who taught for 36 years beginning at the Harvard School for Boys, to a student who contributed to the jazz program during his or her time at the school.

Frederick Douglass Diversity Award – Nina Milligan ’16

Recognizes a senior his or her focus on his or her own culture or others based on ethnicity, religion and sexual orientation in a creative, courageous and compassionate way through art, activism or outreach.

Lamar Trotti Jr. ’50 Award – Alexandra Arreola ’16

Given to a senior, in memory of Lamar Trotti Jr. ’50, who made the most dramatic transformation in his or her life and work both inside and outside of the classroom during his or her time at Harvard-Westlake.

David Justin Rascoff ’91 Award – Su Jin Nam ’16

Given in memory of David Justin Rascoff ’91 to a member of the senior class who has always spoken his or her opinions in his or her daily life.

Humanitas Award – Grace Pan ’16

Honors a  senior who has demonstrated service to the school, friendliness, consideration for others and loyalty to the community.

Cuscaden Blackwood Medal – Sophia Van Iderstine ’17

Given to a member of the junior class for his or her outstanding contributions to the school environment and spirit. The recipient is nominated and selected by senior class officers and faculty members.

Blanche Nelson Boyle Award – Javi Arango ’16

Senior Academic Awards

Computer Science – Shaileja Jain ’16

Ducommun Award (Mathematics) – Benjamin Most ’16


Chronicle – Bennett Gross ’16 and Sacha Lin ’16

Vox – Lauren Weetman ’16 and Alex Gordon ’16

English – Javi Arango ’16

Visual Arts – Samantha Ho ’16

Science – Paula Lahera ’16

History – Noah Redlich ’16

Foreign Language – Emma Caragozian ’16

Performing Arts – James Hansen ’16

Yellin Award for Womens Studies – (Gender Studies Class) Naomi Barlava ’17, Jessica Brandon ’16, Matthew Jung ’16, Haden Modisett ’16, Su Jin Nam ’16, Jessica Pfeifer ’16, Alivia Platt ’16 and Alitzel Villanueva ’17

Excellency in Debate – Cameron Cohen ’16 and Nick Steele ’16

William L Davis Award (economics) – Jack Stovitz ’16

Creative Writing – Jared Gentile ’16 and Scarlett Wildasin ’16

Faculty Awards

Garrett Hardin Distinguished Service Award – Drew Maddock

Garrett Hardin Early Achievement Award – Nate Cardin

Given to a senior faculty member for distinguished service to the school and a junior faculty member for early achievement in his or her department.

David Justin Rascoff ’91 Faculty Award – Simona Ghirlanda

Created in honor of David Justin Rascoff ’91, this award funds summer sabbaticals for faculty members which the recipients can decide how to use.

Marc and Julie Platt Endowed Dean Chair – Sharon Cuseo


Lee Carlson Award (athletics) – Ben Hallock ’16 and Courtney Corrin ’16

Awarded to two members of the senior class, one male and one female, who demonstrate excellence and dedication in athletics.

Schumacher Award  – Gabe Golob ’16

Given to a senior for his or her contributions to the athletics department, effort in a sport and display of sportsmanship during his or her senior year.

More to Discover
Activate Search
The Student News Site of Harvard-Westlake School
School honors students, staff at awards ceremony