Science Bowl ‘B’ team wins regional competition, qualify for national competition

Scott Nussbaum

The Science Bowl “B” team won the 21st Los Angeles Department of Water and Power Science Bowl Tournament held in downtown Los Angeles Saturday, Feb. 22. It was the first regional victory in a Science Bowl competition for the school. The “A” team finished third in the competition.

“B” team members are Nicholas Abouzeid ’15, captain Zachary Birnholz ’14, Donhem Brown ’14, Laurel Rand-Lewis ’16 and Larry Zhang ’14. They are coached by upper school science teacher Nate Cardin. For winning the tournament, each student was awarded a $1,000 scholarship donated by the tournament sponsors.

“It was surreal to say the least,” Abouzeid said. “We have all been working so hard. It was nice to see all that work pay off.”

By winning the competition, the “B” team has qualified for the United States Department of Energy National Science Bowl  in Washington, D.C. April 24-28.

The “A” team of captain Anser Abbas ’14, Jonathan Heckerman ’15, Adam Hirschhorn ’14, Enya Hunag ’15 and Kevin Zhang ’14, placed third behind North Hollywood High School, who won the competition last year.