Science Bowl announces A, B teams

Jake Saferstein

Science Bowl announced its A and B teams today after school in an email to all members.

Nicholas Abouzeid ’15, Marko Fejzo ’15, Jonathan Heckerman ’15 and Aaron Shih ’15 are on the A team, along with alternate Jacob Gold ’15. The captain has not yet been decided for the A team.

Enya Huang ’15 captains the B team, which also consists of Johnny Berman ’17, Paula Lahera ’16, Tony Ma ’16 and Nomi Ringach ’17. The B team currently has no designated alternate.

Science teacher Nate Cardin, who also is the club sponsor and coach for Science Bowl, along with club presidents, Abouzeid and Heckerman, chose the teams.

“We needed to ensure that each team featured a range of subject specialists so as to leave as few knowledge gaps as possible,” Cardin wrote in the announcement email.

The Science Bowl teams practice afterschool on Wednesdays, and all other club members can practice on Fridays, along with the two teams.

The main competition, the Los Angeles Department of Water and Power Science Bowl Regional Competition, will be held February 21. The teams will also compete in a scrimmage January 17.