Math teacher receives award for technology incorporation

Math teacher and Educational Technology Committee chair Jeff Snapp is this year’s recipient of the Kogan Family Award for Innovation in Teaching, Head of School Jeanne Huybrechts announced Wednesday at the annual faculty/staff opening-of-school meeting. The Kogan Family Award, established in 2010 by Betsy and Mark Kogan (Ben ’11, Eli ’13), “is intended to foster […]

Faculty simulates security emergency

Faculty members participated in a security drill Friday in Rugby Auditorium. The staff simulated a classroom and responded to security emergencies. Seventh graders and sophomores will receive ALICE training near the beginning of the year. An all-school emergency drill is planned for March 17; the police, fire department and paramedics will be present. Head of […]

Convocation schedule, seating map announced

Head of Upper School Audrius Barzdukas announced a special schedule in an email to all upper school students, in addition to a map of the seating arrangement, for the opening convocation on Ted Slavin Field. The convocation, which will feature speeches from President Rick Commons and the head prefects, will include students and faculty from […]

Foreign Language Honors assembly recognizes students

Members of the foreign language faculty inducted 155 students into national honor societies for Chinese, French, Latin and Spanish at the Foreign Language Honors Assembly on May 21. Four seniors also received awards for their long-term excellence in each of the language programs, and the senior Latin award has been renamed to honor Latin teacher […]

Team of 7 teachers to oversee 1-1 initiative

A group of middle school faculty members will serve as Technology Integration Specialists and oversee the one-to-one initiative planned for the 2013-2014 school year, Director of Studies Liz Resnick announced in an email to faculty. The first step of the Technology Plan includes the new requirement of seventh graders to bring their laptops to class. […]