Wolverines win third straight game, destroy Westchester on Homecoming

In front of a huge Homecoming crowd, the football team routed Westchester High School 49-9 Saturday night. This is the third game in a row the Wolverines completely overwhelmed their opponent, as they beat Granada Hills 34-9 two weeks ago, and defeated Taft 44-10 last week. The Wolverines defense pitched a shutout for over three quarters […]

Pretzels, new mission highlight opening convocation

During the second ever all-school opening convocation Tuesday, President Rick Commons announced the new mission statement, focusing on community and a joyful pursuit of excellence. Commons first cited the four cornerstones of the mission statement with the words: community, excellence, integrity, and purpose. The acronym E-P-I-C, which Athletic Director Jason Kelly came up with, is […]

Choi '15, Winshel '15 win Head Prefect election

Albert Choi ’15 and Sarah Winshel ’15 will serve as as Head Prefects for the 2014-2015 school year, Head Prefects and Senior Prefects announced in an email today. Due to a tie between Choi and Matt Beyer ’15, juniors and sophomores voted in a runoff election yesterday, while Winshel was elected in the first round […]

Male Head Prefect to be decided in runoff election

Matt Beyer ’15 and Albert Choi ’15 will vie for the position of male Head Prefect in a runoff election, Prefect Council announced in an email March 20. Juniors and sophomores have until Friday at 2:30 p.m. to cast their votes. Both the male and female Head Prefects will be announced later that Friday. Brian […]

Football falls to 0-2 in Mission League play

The Wolverines’ Senior Night loss to St. Paul by a score of 31-23 was not what the team had hoped for following last weeks loss in its Mission League opener against Serra, but an injury to their starting quarterback could prove much more significant. Marshal Cohen ’16, who led the Wolverines to a 4-0 start […]

Class of 2015 elects junior prefects

The Class of 2015 elected Jackson Beavers ’15, Albert Choi ’15, Rachel Persky ’15 and Sarah Winshel ’15 as next year’s junior prefects. All four served as sophomore prefects this year. Six female candidates and five male candidates ran for office. Voting opened April 19 after the sophomore class meeting. Polls closed on April 22 […]