Next year’s Head Prefects named without vote after candidate drops out

Julia Aizuss

In an email sent to all sophomores and juniors, Prefect Council announced on Tuesday, March 19 that current junior prefects Henry Hahn ’14 and Ashley Sacks ’14 will serve as the next year’s Head Prefects after junior prefect Mazelle Etessami ’14 dropped out of the race leaving both candidates unopposed.

The assembly on Wednesday where candidates would have shared their views on leading Prefect Council as well as the Honor Board has been canceled, since voting is no longer necessary to determine next year’s Head Prefects.

“Since Henry Hahn is running unopposed and Ashley Sacks is the only remaining female candidate, they will be your Head Prefects for the school year 2013-2014,” read the email sent out by Prefect Council around 7 p.m. on Tuesday.

Hahn was already set to serve as Head Prefect, since he was running unopposed for the male position.  Sacks became Head Prefect by default as the only remaining female candidate after Etessami withdrew her candidacy. Prefect Council, since the merger of Harvard School and Westlake School for Girls, has been led by one boy and one girl Head Prefect.

Despite the assembly’s cancelation, the day will run on its original assembly schedule.