NSPA honors articles, school publications

The National Scholastic Press Association selected The Chronicle as a finalist for the National Newspaper Pacemaker competition and gave VOX photographer Griffy Simon ’11 a third place prize. Michael Kaplan ’08, Andrew Lee ’09 and Cody Schott ’09 won Ryan White Excellence in Journalism awards for articles they wrote for the 2007-2008 Chronicle.

The 2007-2008 Chronicle is one of 13 newspapers selected in the 17-page-or-more category, and one of 46 newspapers overall for the National Pacemaker finalists. The Chronicle has won three times, most recently for the 2006-2007 volume. The Chronicle also received the NSPA All-American honors based on the critique of last year’s paper.

VOX photographer Griffy Simon ’11 won third place in the Photo of the Year for Middle School Environmental Portrait.

“I felt very accomplished, and I hope to win more awards in my future,” Simon said.

Simon captured a shot of the sun setting during the Malibu fires. He said he wanted to document the moment during such a catastrophe and felt it would be a great photo opportunity.

For the Ryan White Awards, Kaplan won an honorable mention for his editorial “Sleep Week Just a Wakeup Call.” Lee and Schott won third place in the Features category of the award for their feature story “Swimmers Soak Up Too Much Sun,” which was about swimmers encountering problems with skin cancer. Lee won a second place award in the same category for his story about staph infections “Battling the Bacteria.”

The award winners will be formally announced in St. Louis at the JEA/NSPA National High School Journalism Convention on Nov. 16.