Football names next season’s captains

Bennett Gross

The football team has named wide receiver Zac Harleston ’17, offensive lineman Odin Hernandez ’17, safety Max Robertson ’17 and linebacker Cameron Welther ’17  as the captains for the 2016 season.

During the regular season, Harleston caught 11 passes for 114 yards and a touchdown. At the end of the year, he played on the defensive side of the ball as well, predominantly at cornerback, and finished the 2015 campaign with 12 tackles.

Hernandez will be the only returning offensive lineman next year with the graduation of Nick Richmond ’16, Eric Bradley ’16, Ivan Rodriguez ’16 and Sam Kelly ’16.

Robertson started at safety for most of the season, totaling 53 tackles for third most on the team, only behind Mike Mapes ’16 and Sultan Daniels ’19.

Welther, who will be next year’s only four-year varsity player, was an outside linebacker this past season, finishing the year with 48 total tackles.

The 2015 captains were Richmond, Bradley, Mapes and Marshal Cohen ’16.